Why spy?: espionage in an age of uncertainty
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2008.
Status:
Central Adult Nonfiction
327.1273 HITZ
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Central Adult Nonfiction
327.1273 HITZ
Available
Feb 20, 2020
Description

What motivates someone to risk his or her life in the shadowy, often dangerous world of espionage? What are the needs and opportunities for spying amid the “war on terrorism”? And how can the United States recruit spies to inform its struggle with Islamic fundamentalists’ acts of anti-Western jihad?Drawing on over twenty-five years of experience, Frederick P. Hitz, a former inspector general of the Central Intelligence Agency, guides the reader through the byzantine structure of the U.S. intelligence community (which agency handles what?), traces the careers and pitfalls of such infamous spies as Robert Hanssen and Aldrich Ames, and explains how the United States must meet the challenges set forth in the Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004. He also describes the transformation of the CIA after the end of the cold war--from 1991 to the present--and outlines a vision for the future of U.S. spying in the twenty-first century.A fascinating glimpse into the inner workings of international espionage and intelligence, Why Spy? is a must-read not only for fans of Tom Clancy and John le Carré, but for anyone concerned about the security of the United States in a post-cold war, post-9/11 world.

More Details
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
viii, 212 pages ; 19.
Language:
English
ISBN:
0312356048, 9780312356040

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Hitz, F. P. (2008). Why spy?: espionage in an age of uncertainty. New York: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Hitz, Frederick Porter, 1939-. 2008. Why Spy?: Espionage in an Age of Uncertainty. New York: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Hitz, Frederick Porter, 1939-, Why Spy?: Espionage in an Age of Uncertainty. New York: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2008.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Hitz, Frederick Porter. Why Spy?: Espionage in an Age of Uncertainty. New York: Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2008. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
94dffc8d-8fac-64f4-d591-1c54ca087915
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeFeb 21, 2020 02:01:44 AM
Last File Modification TimeFeb 21, 2020 02:01:58 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeFeb 21, 2020 02:01:48 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02735cam a2200469 a 4500
001156832346
003OCoLC
00520080222065421.0
008070924s2008    nyu      b    001 0 eng  
010 |a  2007039363
020 |a 0312356048
020 |a 9780312356040
035 |a (OCoLC)156832346
040 |a DLC|c DLC|d BTCTA|d YDXCP|d BAKER|d UtOrBLW
043 |a n-us---
049 |a VIAC
08200|a 327.1273|2 22
0920 |a 327.1273 HITZ
1001 |a Hitz, Frederick Porter,|d 1939-|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no91005343.
24510|a Why spy? :|b espionage in an age of uncertainty /|c Frederick P. Hitz.
24630|a Espionage in an age of uncertainty.
264 1|a New York :|b Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press,|c 2008.
300 |a viii, 212 pages ;|c 19.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references and index.
5050 |a Introduction -- The seven motivations for espionage -- Espionage vs. intelligence: how the U.S. goes about spying -- Ideological commitment -- Money and treasure -- Revenge and score-settling -- Spying for sex, intimidation, and blackmail -- Spying for reasons of friendship and ethnic or religious solidarity -- The spy game for the sake of the game -- America's spying competence today -- Intelligence failures and politicization -- CIA in transition: 1991 to the present -- Intelligence reform -- Spying in the twenty-first century -- Actionable intelligence and the role of law enforcement, the military, and technology -- Foreign liaison services and spying lawfully -- Updating operational and analytical tradecraft -- Why spy? Should we do it? -- A spy for the twenty-first century -- Conclusion: can we make espionage work in the twenty-first century?
650 0|a Intelligence service|z United States.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85067179.
650 0|a Espionage.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85044893.
650 0|a Espionage, American.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85044895.
898 |a English qEnglish.
898 |a qBook.
898 |a qBibliographies.
907 |a .b1301061x|b 02-21-20|c 01-25-11
998 |a can|b 08-02-18|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 0
910 |a 5185934
903 |a OCLC Holdings Updated 20110802
905 |a MARS
994 |a C0|b VIA
989 |g 1|i 202033656104|j 0|k 07-26-19|l can |o n|p $23.00|q -|r -|s n |t 1|e 04-28-2019 18:31|d 02-16-2019 9:46|h 02-06-2019 10:21|u 54|v 21|w 0|x 3|y .i13345874|z 01-26-11
989 |g 1|i 202033656067|j 0|k  - - |l can |o -|p $23.00|q -|r -|s - |t 1|e  - - |d 02-20-2020 12:42|h 02-20-2020 12:38|u 30|v 4|w 1|x 0|y .i13345898|z 01-26-11