The rise and fall of communism
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Ecco, [2009].
Status:
Central Adult Nonfiction
335.43 BROWN
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Central Adult Nonfiction
335.43 BROWN
Available
Jan 28, 2019
Description

“A work of considerable delicacy and nuance….Brown has crafted a readable and judicious account of Communist history…that is both controversial and commonsensical.”—Salon.com

“Ranging wisely and lucidly across the decades and around the world, this is a splendid book.”—William Taubman, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Khrushchev: The Man and His Era

The Rise and Fall of Communism is the definitive history from the internationally renowned Oxford authority on the subject. Emeritus Professor of Politics at Oxford University, Archie Brown examines the origins of the most important political ideology of the 20th century, its development in different nations, its collapse in the Soviet Union following perestroika, and its current incarnations around the globe. Fans of John Lewis Gaddis, Samuel Huntington, and avid students of history will appreciate the sweep and insight of this epic and astonishing work.

More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Physical Desc:
xv, 720 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780061138799 :, 0061138797

Notes

General Note
Originally published: London : Bodley Head, 2009.
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages [623]-688) and index.
Description
Traces the origins of the communist ideology through its collapse in many nations following Perestroika, in an extensively researched volume that also explores communism's current incarnations.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Brown, A. (2009). The rise and fall of communism. First U.S. edition. New York: Ecco.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Brown, Archie, 1938-. 2009. The Rise and Fall of Communism. New York: Ecco.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Brown, Archie, 1938-, The Rise and Fall of Communism. New York: Ecco, 2009.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Brown, Archie. The Rise and Fall of Communism. First U.S. edition. New York: Ecco, 2009. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
05c8537d-8c88-e550-cc35-7822dc812130
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Jan 29, 2019 04:49:54 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jan 29, 2019 04:49:04 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03695cam a2200505Ma 4500
001262886321
003OCoLC
00520090612111404.0
008090501t20092009nyuab    b    001 0 eng d
020 |a 9780061138799 : |c $35.99 |q maps ;
020 |a 0061138797
035 |a (OCoLC)262886321
040 |a BTCTA |c BTCTA |d YDXCP |d ABG |d UtOrBLW
049 |a VIAC
05014 |a HX36 |b .B74 2009
08204 |a 320.53/2 |2 22
08214 |a 320.53 |2 14
08204 |a 335.43/09 |2 22
09204 |a 335.43 BROWN
1001 |a Brown, Archie, |d 1938- |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79109779.
24514 |a The rise and fall of communism / |c Archie Brown.
250 |a First U.S. edition.
264 1 |a New York : |b Ecco, |c [2009]
264 4 |c ©2009.
300 |a xv, 720 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : |b illustrations ; |c 24 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
500 |a Originally published: London : Bodley Head, 2009.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (pages [623]-688) and index.
5050 |a Origins and development. The idea of communism ; Communism and socialism : the early years ; The Russian revolutions and civil war ; "Building socialism" : Russia and the Soviet Union, 1917-40 ; International communism between the two world wars ; What do we mean by a communist system? -- Communism ascendant. The appeals of communism ; Communism and the Second World War ; The communist takeovers in Europe : indigenous paths ; The communist takeovers in Europe : Soviet impositions ; The communists take power in China ; Post-war Stalinism and the break with Yugoslavia -- Surviving without Stalin. Khrushchev and the Twentieth Party Congress ; Zig-zags on the road to "communism" ; Revisionism and revolution in Eastern Europe ; Cuba : a Caribbean communist state ; China : from the "Hundred Flowers" to "Cultural Revolution" ; Communism in Asia and Africa ; The "Prague Spring" ; "The era of stagnation" : the Soviet Union under Brezhnev -- Pluralizing pressures. The challenge from Poland : John Paul II, Lech Wałesa, and the rise of Solidarity ; Reform in China : Deng Xiaoping and after ; The challenge of the West -- Interpreting the fall of communism. Gorbachev, Perestroika, and the attempt to reform communism, 1985-87 ; The dismantling of Soviet communism, 1988-89 ; The end of communism in Europe ; The break-up of the Soviet state ; Why did communism last so long? ; What caused the collapse of communism? ; What's left of communism?
520 |a Traces the origins of the communist ideology through its collapse in many nations following Perestroika, in an extensively researched volume that also explores communism's current incarnations.
650 0 |a Communism |x History. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85029122.
898 |a English qEnglish.
898 |a qBook.
898 |a qBibliographies.
907 |a .b13182547 |b 12-12-18 |c 01-25-11
998 |a (2)can |a han |b 08-02-18 |c m |d a |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 4
910 |a 5230310
903 |a OCLC Holdings Updated 20110802
905 |a MARS
994 |a C0 |b VIA
989 |g 1 |i 202035941550 |j 0 |k  - - |l can |m Wed Dec 13 2017 04:31PM: IN TRANSIT from skline to can |o n |p $36.00 |q - |r - |s w |t 1 |e  - - |d 12-13-2017 16:31 |h 12-04-2017 16:40 |u 29 |v 28 |w 0 |x 2 |y .i14093686 |z 01-26-11
989 |g 1 |i 202034163922 |j 0 |k  - - |l can |o - |p $36.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 1 |e  - - |d 01-28-2019 10:32 |h 12-14-2018 12:37 |u 39 |v 12 |w 4 |x 2 |y .i14093662 |z 01-26-11
989 |g 1 |i 202034622467 |j 0 |k  - - |l han |o n |p $36.00 |q - |r - |s w |t 1 |e  - - |d 03-30-2015 17:50 |h 02-25-2015 14:46 |u 19 |v 20 |w 0 |x 0 |y .i14093674 |z 01-26-11