Ulysses and us : the art of everyday life in Joyce's masterpiece
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : W.W. Norton & Co., 2009.
Status:
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Shirlington Adult Nonfiction
823 JOYCE KIBER
In Transit
Description
Declan Kiberd, professor of Anglo-Irish literature at the University College Dublin and Ireland’s premier literary historian, offers an audacious, pioneering new take on James Joyce’s masterpiece. Ulysses, he argues, is not an esoteric work for the scholarly few but indisputably a work rooted in the lives of ordinary citizens, offering a humane vision of a more tolerant and decent life in the modern world.Structuring his analysis around the mundane pleasures highlighted throughout the work—including waking, walking, and drinking—Kiberd progresses through each of Ulysses’s episodes to elegantly reveal that Joyce’s ultimate goal was to create a book honoring the richness of daily life. At a time when most other modernist authors adopted a rather dismissive tone toward popular culture and the emerging noise of industry, Joyce wrote Ulysses to extol the everyday man and embrace the bustle of middle-class streets. He wanted to infuse that commonplace Dublin world, in all of its grit and vulgar physicality, with a fierce passion and a miraculous interiority that would illuminate its underlying beauty.For Kiberd, the seemingly banal hero of Ulysses, Leopold Bloom, embodies an intensely ordinary kind of wisdom and, in this way, offers us a model for living well, in the tradition of Homer, Dante, and the Bible—all of which Joyce drew on in writing his book. By shedding light on Joyce’s celebration of everyday life, Kiberd rescues Ulysses from the dusty shelves of rarified literary neglect and presents it to the audience it was originally written about and for which it was intended.
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First American edition.
Physical Desc:
xi, 399 pages ; 24.
Language:
English
ISBN:
0393070999, 9780393070996

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kiberd, D. (2009). Ulysses and us: the art of everyday life in Joyce's masterpiece. First American edition. New York: W.W. Norton & Co.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kiberd, Declan. 2009. Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce's Masterpiece. New York: W.W. Norton & Co.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kiberd, Declan, Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce's Masterpiece. New York: W.W. Norton & Co, 2009.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kiberd, Declan. Ulysses and Us: The Art of Everyday Life in Joyce's Masterpiece. First American edition. New York: W.W. Norton & Co, 2009. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a0eb7e55-0e39-59d8-64c5-c7ddfdb70229
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Jun 16, 2019 02:44:51 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jun 16, 2019 02:44:39 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01950cam a2200433 a 4500
001317473432
003OCoLC
00520090807120537.0
008090410s2009    nyu      b    001 0 eng  
010 |a  2009014101
020 |a 0393070999 |q cm
020 |a 9780393070996
035 |a (OCoLC)317473432
040 |a DLC |c DLC |d BTCTA |d YDXCP |d UtOrBLW
049 |a VIAC
05000 |a PR6019.O9 |b U6724 2009
08200 |a 823/.912 |2 22
09204 |a 823 JOYCE KIBER
1001 |a Kiberd, Declan. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79006217.
24510 |a Ulysses and us : |b the art of everyday life in Joyce's masterpiece / |c Declan Kiberd.
250 |a First American edition.
264 1 |a New York : |b W.W. Norton & Co., |c 2009.
300 |a xi, 399 pages ; |c 24.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references and index.
5050 |a How Ulysses didn't change our lives -- How it might still do so -- Paralysis, self-help, and revival -- Waking -- Learning -- Thinking -- Walking -- Praying -- Dying -- Reporting -- Eating -- Reading -- Wandering -- Singing -- Drinking -- Ogling -- Birthing -- Dreaming -- Parenting -- Teaching -- Loving -- Ordinary people's odysseys -- Old testaments and new -- Depression and after : Dante's Comedy -- Shakespeare, Hamlet, and company.
650 0 |a Conduct of life in literature. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh94003658.
898 |a English qEnglish.
898 |a qBook.
898 |a qBibliographies.
907 |a .b1326817x |b 06-12-19 |c 01-25-11
998 |a san |b 08-01-18 |c m |d a |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 0
910 |a 5235666
903 |a OCLC Holdings Updated 20110802
905 |a MARS
994 |a C0 |b VIA
989 |g 1 |i 202034183494 |j 0 |k  - - |l san |o - |p $29.00 |q - |r - |s t |t 1 |e  - - |d 04-15-2019 13:02 |h 02-24-2019 14:09 |u 20 |v 7 |w 1 |x 0 |y .i14228786 |z 01-26-11