What's the big deal about freedom
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors:
Faulkner, Matt, Illustrator
Published:
New York, NY : Philomel Books, [2017]., ©2017.
Rating:
Age 4-8.
Status:
Central Kids Nonfiction has 2
J 323.44 SHAMI
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Central Kids Nonfiction
J 323.44 SHAMI
Available
Mar 1, 2019
Central Kids Nonfiction
J 323.44 SHAMI
Available
May 3, 2019
Description
From the Constitution to civil rights, from women's rights to the four freedoms, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows how America got the nickname "land of the free."It’s a “free country”! Why? Because in America we're free speak our minds, choose our leaders and set the rules. Since way back when Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, Americans have stood up for freedom again and again – but it wasn’t always easy!   Did you know that Henry “Box” Brown escaped slavery by shipping himself north in a box? Or that Susan B. Anthony was arrested when she tried to vote? Did you know that even young kids protested for the right to go to school?   This entertaining, fact-filled book celebrates how, with every generation, more and more Americans won the right to be free.  Find out how they did it and why standing up for the “land of the free” is such a big deal!Perfect for fans of The One and Only Declaration of Independence, John, Paul, George & Ben, and Shh! We're Writing the Constitution – and a great way to talk about America, its values, and the rights we all enjoy.Praise for What's the Big Deal About Freedom:"Bolstering the upbeat tone of the writing while emphasizing the racial and religious diversity of Americans, the lively watercolor-and-pencil illustrations are consistently engaging and occasionally endearing. A hopeful, idealistic portrayal of freedom in America." --Booklist"An effective place for children to begin learning about the concept of freedom." --School Library Journal
More Details
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
1 volume (unpaged) : color ; 30 cm.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780399547287, 0399547282
Accelerated Reader:
LG
Level 6.3, 1 Points
Lexile code:
NC: Non-Conforming
Lexile measure:
1100

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references.
Description
Explains how America got the nickname "land of the free" and shares facts on subjects ranging from the Constitution and abolition to suffrage and the four freedoms, while offering insight into the progression and setbacks of democracy.
Target Audience
Age 4-8.
Target Audience
Grade K-3.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Shamir, R., & Faulkner, M. (2017). What's the big deal about freedom. New York, NY: Philomel Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Shamir, Ruby and Matt, Faulkner. 2017. What's the Big Deal About Freedom. New York, NY: Philomel Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Shamir, Ruby and Matt, Faulkner, What's the Big Deal About Freedom. New York, NY: Philomel Books, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Shamir, Ruby,, and Matt Faulkner. What's the Big Deal About Freedom. New York, NY: Philomel Books, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
fdafca7d-4b1e-69e3-a0a0-e4ebea0d5916
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Jul 02, 2019 04:58:08 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jul 02, 2019 04:48:56 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02430cam a2200505 i 4500
001ocn956623790
003OCoLC
00520170505133903.0
008160901s2017    nyua   j b    000 0 eng  
010 |a  2016029624
019 |a 956479992
020 |a 9780399547287 |q illustrations ;
020 |a 0399547282
035 |a (OCoLC)956623790 |z (OCoLC)956479992
040 |a DLC |b eng |e rda |c DLC |d YDX |d BDX |d OCLCO |d OCLCF |d VTL |d FMG |d UAP |d UtOrBLW
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-us---
0920 |a J 323.44 SHAMI
1001 |a Shamir, Ruby, |e author. |4 aut |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2016012052.
24510 |a What's the big deal about freedom / |c written by Ruby Shamir ; illustrated by Matt Faulkner.
264 1 |a New York, NY : |b Philomel Books, |c [2017]
264 4 |a ©2017.
300 |a 1 volume (unpaged) : |b color ; |c 30 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
336 |a still image |b sti |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
5211 |a Age 4-8.
5210 |a Grade K-3.
520 |a Explains how America got the nickname "land of the free" and shares facts on subjects ranging from the Constitution and abolition to suffrage and the four freedoms, while offering insight into the progression and setbacks of democracy.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references.
61010 |a United States. |t Constitution. |n 1st-10th Amendments |v Juvenile literature.
61010 |a United States. |t Constitution. |v Juvenile literature. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79065871.
650 0 |a Civil rights |z United States |v Juvenile literature. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008101055.
650 0 |a Liberty |v Juvenile literature.
7001 |a Faulkner, Matt, |e illustrator. |4 ill |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n85298881.
907 |a .b19632824 |b 05-04-19 |c 04-24-17
998 |a cjn |b 08-02-18 |c m |d a |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 0
938 |a YBP Library Services |b YANK |n 13107527
938 |a Baker and Taylor |b BTCP |n BK0019326311
938 |a Brodart |b BROD |n 117426857
905 |a MARS
994 |a Z0 |b VIA
989 |g 0 |i 31000002951393 |j 0 |k  - - |l cjn |o - |p $17.99 |q - |r - |s - |t 1 |e  - - |d 03-01-2019 15:28 |h 03-01-2019 15:27 |u 11 |v 3 |w 0 |x 3 |y .i21240383 |z 05-04-17
989 |g 0 |i 31000002951385 |j 0 |k  - - |l cjn |o - |p $17.99 |q - |r - |s - |t 1 |e  - - |d 05-03-2019 14:50 |h 05-03-2019 14:50 |u 3 |v 2 |w 0 |x 1 |y .i21240371 |z 05-04-17