The salt house: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Touchstone, ©2017.
Status:
Central Adult Fiction
F DUFFY
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Central Adult Fiction
F DUFFY
Available
Aug 4, 2019
Description
*Real Simple “Best Books of June” *Refinery29 “Best Beach Reads of 2017” *Bustle “17 Best Debut Novels by Women in 2017” In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House—the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they’re renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn’t wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound. A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter’s ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart. When Jack’s old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart—or be the path to their family’s future. Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Touchstone paperback edition.
Physical Desc:
288 pages ; 22.
Street Date:
1706.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781501156557, 1501156551

Notes

Description
"A gorgeously written debut novel set during a Maine summer, about a family navigating the confusing contradictions of grief, love, and hope after an unforgettable accident."--,Provided by publisher.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Duffy, L. (2017). The salt house: a novel. First Touchstone paperback edition. New York: Touchstone.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Duffy, Lisa, 1970-. 2017. The Salt House: A Novel. New York: Touchstone.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Duffy, Lisa, 1970-, The Salt House: A Novel. New York: Touchstone, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Duffy, Lisa. The Salt House: A Novel. First Touchstone paperback edition. New York: Touchstone, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c43bc0fa-d349-0ab5-a4bb-e8eb4ed25aa5
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeAug 05, 2019 04:50:39 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeAug 05, 2019 04:48:41 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01628cam a2200397 i 4500
001ocn958224337
003OCoLC
00520170614081259.0
008160830s2017    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a  2016030718
020 |a 9781501156557|q (trade paper)|q cm
020 |a 1501156551|q (trade paper)
035 |a (OCoLC)958224337
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d BTCTA|d OCLCF|d BDX|d OCLCQ|d LEB|d JSE|d DAD|d OCLCO|d UtOrBLW
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-us-me
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
092 |a F DUFFY
1001 |a Duffy, Lisa,|d 1970-|e author.|4 aut|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2016044770.
24514|a The salt house :|b a novel /|c Lisa Duffy.
250 |a First Touchstone paperback edition.
263 |a 1706.
264 1|a New York :|b Touchstone,|c ©2017.
300 |a 288 pages ;|c 22.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "A gorgeously written debut novel set during a Maine summer, about a family navigating the confusing contradictions of grief, love, and hope after an unforgettable accident."--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Families|z Maine|v Fiction.
655 7|a Domestic fiction.|2 gsafd.
655 7|a Domestic fiction.|2 lcgft|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026295.
907 |a .b19636969|b 03-17-19|c 04-27-17
998 |a caf|b 08-01-18|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4
905 |a MARS
994 |a Z0|b VIA
989 |g 0|i 31000002957820|j 0|k  - - |l caf |o -|p $16.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|e  - - |d 08-04-2019 19:22|h 07-09-2019 20:54|u 22|v 5|w 1|x 2|y .i21297514|z 06-08-17