The boat people : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published
New York : Doubleday, ©2018.
Status
Glencarlyn Adult Fiction
F BALA
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Glencarlyn Adult Fiction
F BALA
Available
Dec 21, 2019
Description
Loading Description...
More Details
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
338 pages ; 25
Street Date
1801
Language
English
ISBN
9780385542296, 0385542291, 9780525432463, 0525432469

Notes

Description
"For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"--,Provided by publisher.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Bala, S. (2018). The boat people: a novel. First edition. New York: Doubleday.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Bala, Sharon. 2018. The Boat People: A Novel. New York: Doubleday.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Bala, Sharon, The Boat People: A Novel. New York: Doubleday, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Bala, Sharon. The Boat People: A Novel. First edition. New York: Doubleday, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
Full titleboat people
Authorbala sharon
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2020-04-01 15:11:20PM
Last Indexed2020-04-01 15:30:20PM

Book Cover Information

Image SourcecontentCafe
First LoadedMar 6, 2020
Last UsedMar 31, 2020

Marc Record

Last File Modification Time Apr 01, 2020 03:30:20 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Apr 01, 2020 03:11:20 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03285cam a2200469 i 4500
001ocn983346780
003OCoLC
00520180110075213.0
008170619s2018    nyu           000 1 eng  
1001 |a Bala, Sharon, |e author. |4 aut |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2016074797
0920 |a F BALA
650 0 |a Refugees |z Canada |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Fathers and sons |v Fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008103511
655 7 |a Legal stories. |2 gsafd
655 7 |a Domestic fiction. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026295
250 |a First edition.
020 |a 9780385542296 |q (hardcover)
020 |a 0385542291 |q (hardcover)
020 |a 9780525432463 |q (softcover)
020 |a 0525432469 |q (softcover)
010 |a  2017020049
520 |a "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"-- |c Provided by publisher.
520 |a "A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"-- |c Provided by publisher.
264 1 |a New York : |b Doubleday, |c ©2018.
300 |a 338 pages ; |c 25
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier
24514 |a The boat people : |b a novel / |c Sharon Bala.
019 |a 983019736 |a 983517578
035 |a (OCoLC)983346780 |z (OCoLC)983019736 |z (OCoLC)983517578
040 |a DLC |b eng |e rda |c DLC |d YDX |d OCLCO |d OCLCF |d OCLCQ |d OCLCO |d OO3 |d UtOrBLW
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-cn---
08200 |a 813/.6 |2 23
994 |a Z0 |b VIA
263 |a 1801
905 |a MARS
903 |a OCLC Holdings Updated 20191030
907 |a .b20026869
998 |e - |d a
989 |y .i21632352 |i 31000000444284 |l gaf |s - |k  |u 18 |x 11 |w 2 |v 14 |t 1 |z 01-08-18 |d 12-21-2019 16:09 |o -