Attention : dispatches from a land of distraction
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Random House, 2018.
Status:
Central Adult Nonfiction
080 COHEN
Shirlington New Nonfiction
080 COHEN
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Central Adult Nonfiction
080 COHEN
Available
May 4, 2019
Shirlington New Nonfiction
080 COHEN
Available
Jul 20, 2019
Description
“The nonfiction novel of our moment.”—Jonathan LethemA wide-ranging, rule-bending collection from “a major American writer” (The New York Times)—reclaiming the power of attention in an age of constant distraction One of Granta’s Best of Young American Novelists, Joshua Cohen arrives with his first collection of nonfiction, the culmination of two decades of writing and thought about life in the digital age. In essays, memoir, criticism, diary entries, and letters—many appearing here for the first time—Cohen covers the full depth and breadth of modern life: politics, literature, art, music, travel, the media, and psychology, and subjects as diverse as Google, Donald Trump, Bernie Sanders, fictional animals, Gustav Mahler, Aretha Franklin, John Zorn, landscape photography, fake Caravaggios, Wikipedia, Gertrude Stein, Edward Snowden, Jonathan Franzen, Olympic women’s fencing, Atlantic City casinos, the closing of the Ringling Bros. circus, and Azerbaijan.  Throughout ATTENTION, Cohen directs his sharp gaze at home and abroad, calling upon his extraordinary erudition and unrivaled ability to draw connections between seemingly unlike things to show us how to live without fear in a world overflowing with information. In each piece, he projects a quality of thought that is uniquely his, and a voice as witty, profound, and distinct as any in American letters. At this crucial juncture in history, ATTENTION is a guide for the perplexed—a handbook for anyone hoping to bring the wisdom of the past into the culture of the future.Praise for ATTENTION“Dazzling in its scope . . . If curiosity is a writer’s greatest innate gift, Joshua Cohen may be America’s greatest living writer.”The Washington Post  “Prescient . . . Attention reveals a fresh, vital literary voice as it covers seemingly every imaginable topic relating to modern life, both at home and abroad.”Entertainment Weekly“Whip-sharp . . . Cohen here flaunts a next-level virtuosity across countless fields of expertise. . . . [He] is a phenomenal thinker whatever the theme whatever the subject: granular, acrobatic, startling.”The Guardian“As off-kilter and thought-provoking as [Cohen’s] novels . . . Fans of David Foster Wallace and William T. Vollmann will revel in Cohen’s playful erudition, versatility, and dark humor.”Booklist (starred review) “These essays are the cat’s meow.”Kirkus Reviews
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
xiii, 560 pages ; 24.
Street Date:
1808.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780399590214, 0399590218

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references.
Description
A collection of essays, from a selection of previously published and new nonfiction--essays, memoir, criticism, letters, diaries--covering an array of topics.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Cohen, J. (2018). Attention: dispatches from a land of distraction. First edition. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Cohen, Joshua, 1980-. 2018. Attention: Dispatches From a Land of Distraction. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Cohen, Joshua, 1980-, Attention: Dispatches From a Land of Distraction. New York: Random House, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Cohen, Joshua. Attention: Dispatches From a Land of Distraction. First edition. New York: Random House, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
78923946-a619-ab89-7740-0326f4df7d1e
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Jul 21, 2019 04:51:06 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jul 21, 2019 04:48:39 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01905cam a2200433 i 4500
001on1012689504
003OCoLC
00520180820105502.0
008180126s2018    nyu    e b    000 e eng  
010 |a  2018000837
020 |a 9780399590214 |q (hardback) |q cm
020 |a 0399590218 |q (hardback)
035 |a (OCoLC)1012689504
040 |a DLC |b eng |e rda |c DLC |d OCLCO |d GP5 |d IGA |d DAD |d UtOrBLW
042 |a pcc
08200 |a 080 |2 23
092 |a 080 COHEN
1001 |a Cohen, Joshua, |d 1980- |e author. |4 aut |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2005098630.
24510 |a Attention : |b dispatches from a land of distraction / |c Joshua Cohen.
250 |a First edition.
263 |a 1808.
264 1 |a New York : |b Random House, |c 2018.
264 4 |c ©2018.
300 |a xiii, 560 pages ; |c 24.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
520 |a A collection of essays, from a selection of previously published and new nonfiction--essays, memoir, criticism, letters, diaries--covering an array of topics.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references.
650 0 |a American essays. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85004316.
650 0 |a Journalists. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85070788.
655 7 |a Essays. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026094.
7301 |a Essays. |k Selections.
907 |a .b20451969 |b 12-09-18 |c 05-25-18
998 |a (2)can |a san |b 11-15-18 |c m |d a |e 3 |f eng |g nyu |h 0
905 |a MARS
994 |a Z0 |b VIA
989 |g 0 |i 31000002447582 |j 0 |k  - - |l can |o - |p $28.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 1 |e  - - |d 05-04-2019 10:28 |h 04-06-2019 10:03 |u 9 |v 6 |w 0 |x 9 |y .i22024402 |z 08-09-18
989 |g 0 |i 31000002258211 |j 0 |k  - - |l sann |n FRIENDS |o - |p $25.00 |q - |r - |s - |t 1 |e  - - |d 07-20-2019 9:30 |h 04-29-2019 19:30 |u 4 |v 7 |w 0 |x 4 |y .i22220136 |z 12-07-18