Mr. President, how long must we wait? : Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the fight for the right to vote
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : 37 Ink/Atria, 2019.
Status
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Central Adult Nonfiction
324.623 CASSI
Due Jun 30, 2020
Description
Loading Description...
More Details
Format
Book
Edition
First 37 Ink/Atria Books hardcover edition.
Physical Desc
xii, 288 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Language
English
ISBN
9781501177767, 1501177761

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages 269-271) and index.
Description
Examines the complex relationship between suffragist leader Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson, revealing the life-risking measures that Paul and her supporters endured to gain voting rights for American women.
Description
"An eye-opening, inspiring, and timely account of the complex relationship between leading suffragist Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson in the fight for women's equality. Woodrow Wilson arrives in Washington, DC, in March 1913, a day before he is to take the presidential oath of office. He is surprised by the modest turnout. The crowds and reporters are blocks away from Union Station, watching a parade of eight thousand suffragists on Pennsylvania Avenue in a first-of-its-kind protest organized by a twenty-five-year-old activist named Alice Paul and led by a woman riding a white horse. The next day, the New York Times calls the procession "one of the most impressively beautiful spectacles ever staged in this country." [This book] weaves together two story lines: the trajectories of Alice Paul and Woodrow Wilson, two apparent opposites. Paul's procession of suffragists resulted in her being granted a face-to-face meeting with President Wilson, one that would lead to many meetings and much discussion, but little progress for women. With no equality in sight and patience wearing thin, Paul organized the first group ever to picket on the White House lawn--night and day, through sweltering summer mornings and frigid fall nights. From solitary confinement, hunger strikes, and mental institutions to ever more determined activism, [this book] reveals the courageous, near-death journey it took, spearheaded in no small part by Alice Paul's leadership, for women to win the right to vote in America. A rousing portrait of a little-known feminist heroine and an inspiring exploration of a crucial moment in American history--one century before the Women's March--this is a perfect book for fans of Keith O'Brien's Fly Girls and Jon Meacham's The Soul of America."--Dust jacket.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Cassidy, T. (2019). Mr. President, how long must we wait?: Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the fight for the right to vote. First 37 Ink/Atria Books hardcover edition. New York: 37 Ink/Atria.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Cassidy, Tina. 2019. Mr. President, How Long Must We Wait?: Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the Fight for the Right to Vote. New York: 37 Ink/Atria.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Cassidy, Tina, Mr. President, How Long Must We Wait?: Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the Fight for the Right to Vote. New York: 37 Ink/Atria, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Cassidy, Tina. Mr. President, How Long Must We Wait?: Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the Fight for the Right to Vote. First 37 Ink/Atria Books hardcover edition. New York: 37 Ink/Atria, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
e3ee7fef-4475-d623-0251-45df6677d9d4
Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe3ee7fef-4475-d623-0251-45df6677d9d4
Full titlemr president how long must we wait alice paul woodrow wilson and the fight for the right to vote
Authorcassidy tina
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2020-04-01 16:46:36PM
Last Indexed2020-04-01 17:36:03PM

Book Cover Information

Image SourcecontentCafe
First LoadedMar 6, 2020
Last UsedApr 8, 2020

Marc Record

Last File Modification Time Apr 01, 2020 05:36:03 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Apr 01, 2020 04:46:36 PM

MARC Record

LEADER04443cam a2200469 i 4500
001on1086613161
003OCoLC
00520190307082856.0
008190221t20192019nyua     b    001 0beng d
1001 |a Cassidy, Tina, |e author. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2006046527
0920 |a 324.623 CASSI
60010 |a Paul, Alice, |d 1885-1977. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n85388677
60010 |a Wilson, Woodrow, |d 1856-1924. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79046299
650 0 |a Suffragists |z United States |v Biography. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008111856
650 0 |a Women |x Suffrage |z United States |x History |y 20th century.
650 0 |a Women's rights |z United States |x History |y 20th century. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2010119172
655 7 |a Biographies. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026049
250 |a First 37 Ink/Atria Books hardcover edition.
020 |a 9781501177767
020 |a 1501177761
010 |a bl2019001199
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (pages 269-271) and index.
5050 |a A Quaker from New Jersey -- Password: kitchen -- A southern boy -- From Princeton to public office -- The suffrage procession -- Where are all the people? -- In the Oval Office -- The siege of the Senate -- A house divided -- Dark days -- Submarine warfare -- The advancing army -- The silent sentinels -- Fighting for democracy -- The Russians -- The Bastille Day protest -- Behind bars -- The hunger strikes -- The watch fires of freedom -- The amendment -- The vote.
520 |a Examines the complex relationship between suffragist leader Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson, revealing the life-risking measures that Paul and her supporters endured to gain voting rights for American women.
520 |a "An eye-opening, inspiring, and timely account of the complex relationship between leading suffragist Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson in the fight for women's equality. Woodrow Wilson arrives in Washington, DC, in March 1913, a day before he is to take the presidential oath of office. He is surprised by the modest turnout. The crowds and reporters are blocks away from Union Station, watching a parade of eight thousand suffragists on Pennsylvania Avenue in a first-of-its-kind protest organized by a twenty-five-year-old activist named Alice Paul and led by a woman riding a white horse. The next day, the New York Times calls the procession "one of the most impressively beautiful spectacles ever staged in this country." [This book] weaves together two story lines: the trajectories of Alice Paul and Woodrow Wilson, two apparent opposites. Paul's procession of suffragists resulted in her being granted a face-to-face meeting with President Wilson, one that would lead to many meetings and much discussion, but little progress for women. With no equality in sight and patience wearing thin, Paul organized the first group ever to picket on the White House lawn--night and day, through sweltering summer mornings and frigid fall nights. From solitary confinement, hunger strikes, and mental institutions to ever more determined activism, [this book] reveals the courageous, near-death journey it took, spearheaded in no small part by Alice Paul's leadership, for women to win the right to vote in America. A rousing portrait of a little-known feminist heroine and an inspiring exploration of a crucial moment in American history--one century before the Women's March--this is a perfect book for fans of Keith O'Brien's Fly Girls and Jon Meacham's The Soul of America."--Dust jacket.
264 1 |a New York : |b 37 Ink/Atria, |c 2019.
264 4 |c ©2019
300 |a xii, 288 pages : |b illustrations ; |c 24 cm
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier
24510 |a Mr. President, how long must we wait? : |b Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the fight for the right to vote / |c Tina Cassidy.
2463 |a Mister President, how long must we wait?
035 |a (OCoLC)1086613161
040 |a NjBwBT |b eng |e rda |c FMG |d FMG |d OCLCO |d IDLEW |d IK2 |d UAP |d UNA |d BUR |d UtOrBLW
08204 |a 324.6/23092 |a B |2 23
905 |a MARS
994 |a Z0 |b VIA
903 |a OCLC Holdings Updated 20191030
907 |a .b20623197
998 |e 3 |d a
989 |y .i22348323 |i 31000000453384 |l can |s - |k 06-30-20 |u 8 |x 2 |w 6 |v 3 |t 1 |z 03-04-19 |d 02-06-2020 23:04 |o -