Not working : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : The Dial Press, ©2016.
Status
Aurora Hills - Adult Fiction  1 available
F OWENS
Westover - Adult Fiction  1 available
F OWENS

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Aurora Hills - Adult FictionF OWENSAvailable
Central - Adult FictionF OWENSChecked OutJune 21, 2022
Westover - Adult FictionF OWENSAvailable

Description

Loading Description...

More Details

Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
243 pages ; 22 cm
Street Date
1605
Language
English
ISBN
9780812988819, 0812988817

Notes

Description
"In the tradition of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It comes a wise and laugh-out-loud debut novel that captures a young generation trying not to have it all, but to figure out what it all means. Claire has just resigned from her job without a plan for her next move. As she struggles to explain herself to friends and family, she experiences the emotions and minutiae of day-to-day life as only someone without the distractions of a regular routine can--and discovers what happens when she seeks true purpose in life"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"First there was Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones; then Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It; and now Lisa Owen's Not Working to capture the point of view of of a young generation trying not to have it all, but to figure out what it all means. Claire has just resigned from her job without a plan - she is pleased and anxious, but her family and friends don't seem to understand. Before too long she pushes away her safe, steady, brain surgeon boyfriend, and her mother stops talking to her. Claire navigates, observes, and comments on the emotions and minutiae of day to day life as only someone without the distractions of a regular routine can. This is a story of self discovery, packed with wry humor and told in sparkling vignettes"--,Provided by publisher.

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Owens, L. (2016). Not working: a novel (First edition.). The Dial Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Owens, Lisa, 1985-. 2016. Not Working: A Novel. New York: The Dial Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Owens, Lisa, 1985-. Not Working: A Novel New York: The Dial Press, 2016.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Owens, Lisa. Not Working: A Novel First edition., The Dial Press, 2016.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.