I liked my life
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2017.
Status
2 copies, 1 person is on the wait list.
Central - Adult Fiction
F FABIA
Shirlington - Adult Fiction
F FABIA

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Central - Adult FictionF FABIAAvailable
Shirlington - Adult FictionF FABIAAvailable

Description

Loading Description...

More Details

Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
262 pages ; 22 cm
Language
English
ISBN
9781250084873, 1250084873

Notes

Description
"An emotional journey of love, loss, healing, and redemption. I rooted for every character." -- Lisa See, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Snow Flower and The Secret Fan. "I Liked My Life is a treasure of a novel. Warm-hearted and clever, the story will keep you reading until the final delicious revelation." -- Diane Chamberlain, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. "Warm and hopeful, this marvelous debut stands next to novels from Catherine McKenzie and Carolyn Parkhurst." -- Booklist (starred). In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Where'd You Go, Bernadette? comes a story from debut author Abby Fabiaschi that is "as absorbing as it is illuminating, and as witty as it is heartbreaking." Maddy is a devoted stay-at-home wife and mother, host of excellent parties, giver of thoughtful gifts, and bestower of a searingly perceptive piece of advice or two. She is the cornerstone of her family, a true matriarch . . . until she commits suicide, leaving her husband Brady and teenage daughter Eve heartbroken and reeling, wondering what happened. How could the exuberant, exacting woman they loved disappear so abruptly, seemingly without reason, from their lives? How they can possibly continue without her? As they sift through details of her last days, trying to understand the woman they thought they knew, Brady and Eve are forced to come to terms with unsettling truths. Maddy, however, isn't ready to leave her family forever. Watching from beyond, she tries to find the perfect replacement for herself. Along comes Rory: pretty, caring, and spontaneous, with just the right bit of edge . . . but who also harbors a tragedy of her own. Will the mystery of Maddy ever come to rest? And can her family make peace with their history and begin to heal? "--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"Maddy was a loving, devoted stay-at-home mother . . . until she committed suicide, which left her husband Brady and her teenage daughter Eve heartbroken and reeling, wondering how they can possibly continue without her. Maddy, however, isn't quite done with them. In an attempt to fulfill her family's needs, Maddy watches and meddles from beyond the grave, determined to find the perfect wife and mother to replace herself and heal her family. That's when she finds Rory: a free-spirited schoolteacher, who Maddy maneuvers into Eve's confidences, but who turns out to be harboring a tragedy of her own. In a story both deeply moving and charming, with the domestic insight of Jodi Picoult, I Liked My Life from debut author Abby Fabiaschi is a mother's final blessing for a family learning to live again"--,Provided by publisher.

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Fabiaschi, A. (2017). I liked my life (First edition.). St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Fabiaschi, Abby. 2017. I Liked My Life. New York: St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Fabiaschi, Abby. I Liked My Life New York: St. Martin's Press, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Fabiaschi, Abby. I Liked My Life First edition., St. Martin's Press, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.