The actual one : how I tried, and failed, to remain twenty-something forever
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : HarperPerennial, ©2017.
Status
Central - Adult Biography
B SUTTIE I
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central - Adult Biography
B SUTTIE I
Available
Description
Loading Description...
More Details
Format
Book
Edition
First Edition.
Physical Desc
272 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Street Date
1701
Language
English
ISBN
9780062571977 , 0062571974

Notes

Description
"A hilarious, razor-sharp debut memoir about the moment when you realize that your friends have all grown up and left you behind, for readers of Caitlin Moran's How To Be A Woman, Jenny Lawson's Let's Pretend This Never Happened, and Kelly Williams Brown's Adulting. Isy Suttie wakes up one day in her late twenties to discover that the deal she'd struck with her friends, to put off growing up for as long as possible, had been entirely in her head. Everyone around her is suddenly into mortgages, farmers' markets, and going off the Pill, rather than running naked into the sea or getting hammered in a country pub with eighty-year-old men. After a particularly crushing breakup precipitated by Isy's gifting of a human-size papier-mâché penguin to her boyfriend, her dearest friend advises Isy not to worry: the next guy she meets will be The Actual One. Heartened by this promise, Isy decides to keep delaying the onset of adulthood, whether that means standing on the side of a highway in nothing but an old fur coat and sneakers, dating a man who speaks only in rhyme, or conquering her fears of Alpine skiing by wildly overestimating her athletic ability. Insightful and laugh-out-loud funny, The Actual One is an ode to the confusing wilderness of your late twenties, alongside a quest for a genuinely good relationship . . . or at the very least, a good story to tell,"--Amazon.com.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Suttie, I. (2017). The actual one: how I tried, and failed, to remain twenty-something forever. First Edition. New York: HarperPerennial.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Suttie, Isy, 1978-. 2017. The Actual One: How I Tried, and Failed, to Remain Twenty-something Forever. New York: HarperPerennial.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Suttie, Isy, 1978-, The Actual One: How I Tried, and Failed, to Remain Twenty-something Forever. New York: HarperPerennial, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Suttie, Isy. The Actual One: How I Tried, and Failed, to Remain Twenty-something Forever. First Edition. New York: HarperPerennial, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Loading Staff View.