Dani's story : a journey from neglect to love
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, 2011.
Status
Central - Adult Nonfiction  1 available
362.734 LIERO

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Central - Adult Nonfiction362.734 LIEROAvailable

Description

Loading Description...

More Details

Format
Book
Physical Desc
266 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Language
English
ISBN
9780470591338, 0470591331

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Description
"The story that captivated a nation: how a horribly neglected little girl was rescued by her loving adoptive parents. In July 2005, a six-year-old girl named Danielle was removed from her Florida home after authorities found her living in bug-ridden squalor, subjected to horrific neglect and so damaged by her own mother that recovery seemed hopeless. But hope was waiting for Dani and help. In October 2007, Bernie and Diane Lierow, a hard-working couple with five boys of their own, adopted her and utterly transformed her life. This book tells the moving story of how the Lierows rescued Dani and helped her recover to the point where she can not only communicate, something once thought impossible, but can say of herself, "I pretty.". Dani's story was featured on Oprah and the subject of a Pulitzer Prize-winning article published by the St. Petersburg Times. The Lierows describe their struggle to adopt Dani, how they bonded with her and made a home for her, how they satisfied her craving for contact and stimuli, how Dani began to overcome her severe learning disabilities, how she learned she no longer had to steal food, and how their son Willie may be the greatest brother ever. For readers who enjoyed Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope; Hope's Boy; and Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood. Charting a perilous journey from hardship to hope, a new family, and a second chance at life, Dani's Story is a book you cannot put down and will never forget."--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"The story that captivated a nation--how a horribly neglected little girl was rescued by her loving adoptive parents. The Lierows describe their struggle to adopt Dani, how they bonded with her and made a home for her, how they satisfied her craving for contact and stimuli, how Dani began to overcome her severe learning disabilities, how she learned she no longer had to steal food, and how their son Willie may be the greatest brother ever For readers who enjoyed Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope; Hope's Boy; and Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood"--,Provided by publisher.

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Lierow, D., West, K., & Lierow, B. (2011). Dani's story: a journey from neglect to love . Wiley.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Lierow, Diane, 1962-, Kay West and Bernie Lierow. 2011. Dani's Story: A Journey From Neglect to Love. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Lierow, Diane, 1962-, Kay West and Bernie Lierow. Dani's Story: A Journey From Neglect to Love Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley, 2011.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Lierow, Diane, Kay West, and Bernie Lierow. Dani's Story: A Journey From Neglect to Love Wiley, 2011.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.