The memory of all that : George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Crown, 2011.
Status
Central - Adult Nonfiction  1 available
780.922 WEBER

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Central - Adult Nonfiction780.922 WEBERAvailable

Description

Loading Description...

More Details

Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
4, 270 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 22 cm
Language
English
ISBN
9780307395887 , 030739588X

Notes

Bibliography
Bibliographical references (credits).
Description
"For readers of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low, this is a fascinating memoir of an extraordinarily influential American family, from the celebrated author of True Confections, Triangle, and The Music Lesson. The Memory of All That is Katharine Weber's memoir of the rich, strange, and fascinating cast of characters in her family, including her grandmother, Kay Swift, known both for her own music (she was the first woman to compose the score to a hit Broadway show, Fine and Dandy,) and for her ten-year romance with George Gershwin; her great-grandfather, Paul M. Warburg, the creator of the Federal Reserve System (for which he was vilified by Henry Ford, Charles Lindbergh, and countless conspiracy theorists as the ringleader of the so-called international Jewish banking conspiracy), the model for Annie's Daddy Warbucks, and the man known as the Cassandra of Wall Street for having forecast the Wall Street crash of 1929; and her crazy father, an eccentric filmmaker who made propaganda and training films for the OSS during World War II and who subsequently invented the regrettable and forgettable Aromarama movies (yes, you could smell them). The Memory of All That is an enthralling look at this tremendously influential family as well as a consideration of how their stories--with their myriad layers of truth and fiction--have both illuminated and influenced who Weber is today"--,Provided by publisher.

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Weber, K. (2011). The memory of all that: George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and my family's legacy of infidelities (First edition.). Crown.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Weber, Katharine, 1955-. 2011. The Memory of All That: George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and My Family's Legacy of Infidelities. New York: Crown.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Weber, Katharine, 1955-. The Memory of All That: George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and My Family's Legacy of Infidelities New York: Crown, 2011.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Weber, Katharine. The Memory of All That: George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and My Family's Legacy of Infidelities First edition., Crown, 2011.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.