When breath becomes air
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(26)
4 star
 
(12)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors
Verghese, A. 1955- author of foreword.
Published
New York : Random House, [2016].
Status
23 copies, 3 people are on the wait list.
Aurora Hills - Adult Nonfiction
616.99424 KALAN
Central - Adult Nonfiction has 7
616.99424 KALAN
Cherrydale - Adult Nonfiction
616.99424 KALAN
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Aurora Hills - Adult Nonfiction
616.99424 KALAN
Checked Out
Aurora Hills - Adult Nonfiction
616.99424 KALAN
Available
Central - Adult Nonfiction
616.99424 KALAN
Checked Out
Central - Adult Nonfiction
616.99424 KALAN
Checked Out
Central - Adult Nonfiction
616.99424 KALAN
Available
Show All Copies
Description
Loading Description...
More Details
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
228 pages ; 19 cm
Street Date
1601
Language
English
ISBN
9780812988406 , 081298840X

Notes

Description
"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. Advance praise for When Breath Becomes Air "Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life."--Atul Gawande "Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor--I would recommend it to anyone, everyone."--Ann Patchett"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"At the age of 36, on the verge of a completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi's health began to falter. He started losing weight and was wracked by waves of excruciating back pain. A CT scan confirmed what Paul, deep down, had suspected: he had stage four lung cancer, widely disseminated. One day, he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next, he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined, the culmination of decades of striving, evaporated. With incredible literary quality, philosophical acuity, and medical authority, When Breath Becomes Air approaches the questions raised by facing mortality from the dual perspective of the neurosurgeon who spent a decade meeting patients in the twilight between life and death, and the terminally ill patient who suddenly found himself living in that liminality. At the base of Paul's inquiry are essential questions, such as: What makes life worth living in the face of death? What happens when the future, instead of being a ladder toward the goals of life, flattens out into a perpetual present? When faced with a terminal diagnosis, what does it mean to have a child, to nuture a new life as another one fades away? As Paul wrote, "Before my cancer was diagnosed, I knew that someday I would die, but I didn't know when. After the diagnosis, I knew that someday I would die, but I didn't know when. But now I knew it acutely. The problem wasn't really a scientific one. The fact of death is unsettling. Yet there is no other way to live." Paul Kalanithi passed away in March 2015, while working on this book"--,Provided by publisher.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kalanithi, P., & Verghese, A. 1. (2016). When breath becomes air. First edition. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kalanithi, Paul and A. 1955- Verghese. 2016. When Breath Becomes Air. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kalanithi, Paul and A. 1955- Verghese, When Breath Becomes Air. New York: Random House, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kalanithi, Paul,, and A. 1955- Verghese. When Breath Becomes Air. First edition. New York: Random House, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Loading Staff View.